Waitaki District Libraries Blog

Featuring thoughts, ideas, events, book reviews and staff picks from Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Top Ten: Quests

    Stuck in your bubble? Why not take a literary quest? Fight with armoured bears, save a child or even the world! Check out our list of quests in fiction.

  • Uplifting Reads

    Looking for a well written book with a great storyline, recognisable characters and that essential element - uplift?
    If you enjoyed Helen Simonson’s bestseller “Major Pettigrew’s last stand” and are hungry for more authors and titles, try some of these for size:

  • What Staff are Reading

    Lock Down Edition! Check out all the wonderful things the staff at the Waitaki District Libraries are reading while in lock down.

  • Something to Look Forward To!

    Stop the Press! There will be a smorgasbord of new reading coming your way during the next few months after the library reopens and listed here are just a few “tasters” to whet your appetites -

  • Riveting Read: The Blacksmith Queen

    A funny and quirky first installment in a brand new series

    Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘The Blacksmith Queen’ by G. A. Aiken

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Top Ten New Releases

    Magic, mystery and more! Check out some of our new releases this month!

  • Top Ten: Retellings

    Enjoy these twists on fairy tales, folklore and literature

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • An Expansive Appoach to Readers' Advisory in Libraries

    Two of our Oamaru Librarians, Maclean Barker, Large Print and Audio-visual Services Co-ordinator and Jean Rivett, Fiction Selector and Branches' Co-coordinator, recently ran a workshop that looked at how we, as library professionals, help our readers discover new reading material.

  • Riveting Read: Little White Lies

    A thrilling page turner that keeps you guessing

    Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard and Rachel Hawkins

    Her current read is ‘Little White Lies’ by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Fantasy/Science Fiction Why Not Try

    Love Fantasy/Science Fiction? Check out our list of brand new books available in the Rental Fiction section at the Ōamaru Library

  • Top Ten: Fictional Libraries

    Join us in celebrating our love for libraries by checking out our list of top ten fictional libraries!

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Kill the Queen

    A female centric action fueled fantasy

    Perfect for fans of Anne Bishop and Victoria Aveyard

    Her current read is ‘Kill the Queen’ by Jennifer Estep

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Thrillers Why Not Try

    Love thrillers? Why not try one of these brand new books to the Oamaru Library

  • Top Ten: Children's Issues & Concerns Books

    Check out our Top Ten list of books on a wide range of children's issues and concerns.

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Contagion

    An atmospheric and creepy page turner

    Perfect for fans of Amie Kaufman and Beth Revis

    Her current read is ‘Contagion’ by Erin Bowman

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Romance Why Not Try

    Love romance? Why not try one of these brand new books to the Oamaru Library

  • Top Ten: Christmas Books

    Time to get into the Christmas spirit! Check out our new Christmas Books in the list below

Pages