Riveting Read: The Wishing Spell

Riveting Read: The Wishing Spell

This installment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

Her current read is ‘The Wishing Spell’ by Chris Colfer

‘The Wishing Spell’ puts a new spin on fairy tales that lets you delve back into your favourite childhood stories.
Perfect for fans of Emily Rodda and fairytales

‘The Wishing Spell’ tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner.

Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they
thought.

Anyone who loves fairy tales has probably at some point wished they could fall into their favourite book or be friends with their favourite character. That’s exactly what happens to the lucky (or unlucky depending on your view) main characters in ‘The Wishing Spell’. With their journey into fairytale land we finally get the answers to what happened to our beloved fairy tale characters after the story ended. This is a fun modern fairytale which brings the same combination of entertainment and morals as traditional fairytales. Chris Colfer offers a thrilling quest that the young (or young at heart) won’t be able to resist.

Colfer cleverly weaves together these well-known stories in unexpected ways and provides something new and exciting in every chapter. Alex and Conner inject contemporary culture into the fairy tale world, which adds a comedic element. The layers of humour make ‘The Wishing Spell’ a fun read for families, who at any age can find different things to laugh at. Connor is a likable and imperfect character whose blunt and sarcastic voice make him particularly relatable to teenage audiences. He provides a nice balance to his perfectly behaved bookworm sister and the two have a supportive relationship. Colfer’s vivid descriptions brought the book to life right before my eyes and let my imagination run wild.

‘The Wishing Spell’ is fun for all ages with enthralling adventures and relatable heroes. A scavenger hunt that puts all others to shame. A perfect beginning to a new enchanting series.

You can find this book in the Children’s area in the Orange Dot section under COL

Kerrie Gamble