Riveting Read: The Good Daughter

Riveting Read: The Good Daughter

A dark, gritty, gut wrenching psychological thriller with heart.

Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Val McDermid

This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

Her current read is ‘The Good Daughter’ by Karin Slaughter

Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind

Twenty eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy small-town family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father, Pikeville's notorious defense attorney, devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night.

Twenty eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father's footsteps to become a lawyer herself, the archetypal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again, and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatized, Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it's a case which can't help triggering the terrible memories she's spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime which destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won't stay buried forever.

Karin Slaughter has written a story as in your face shocking as it is tender and heartbreaking. She examines the unbreakable bond of family and the lengths two women will go to uncover the truth about their past. This dual perspective novel does not progress in your typical way. It is not a linear progression instead in jumps back and forth retelling the past with more or different detail. It unravels more like an onion with the author peeling away layer after layer to get to the truth at the core. Slaughter alternate chapters between time periods and perspectives yet it as each character has a clear voice you do not get confused. The reader goes on a journey with the characters as past secrets get revealed as the characters themselves come to terms with them. The plot twists are satisfying and plausible with not a word wasted. Warning contains graphic scenes as Slaughter does not shy away from describing violent scenes.

Slaughter has created rich characters that drive the plot of the novel. The two main characters, Sam and Charlie, are sisters who are damaged and flawed and yet powerful and strong. Slaughter digs deep into the soul of her characters and reveals their strengths and weakness. Every one of her characters bought a distinct and unique voice to the book. Her characters were believable and authentically portrayed. The main characters are not always likable or understandable but this brings a real sense of realism to the novel.

An edge of the seat thriller with heart. Layered plot twists keep your guessing.

You can find this book in Rental Fiction under SLA

Kerrie Gamble