Riveting Read: The Girl Who Knew Too Much

Riveting Read: The Girl Who Knew Too Much

A fast, addictive and fun mystery with non-stop action

Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Nora Roberts

Her current read is ‘The Girl Who Knew Too Much’ by Amanda Quick

This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

When Hollywood moguls and stars want privacy, they head to an idyllic small town on the coast, where the exclusive Burning

Cove Hotel caters to their every need. It's where reporter Irene Glasson finds herself staring down at a beautiful actress at the bottom of a pool.

The dead woman had a red-hot secret about up-and-coming leading man Nick Tremayne, a scoop that Irene couldn't resist, especially since she's just a rookie at a third-rate gossip rag. But now Irene's investigation into the drowning threatens to tear down the wall of illusion that is so deftly built around the famous actor, and there are powerful men willing to do anything to protect their investment.

Seeking the truth, Irene finds herself drawn to a master of deception. Oliver Ward was once a world-famous magician, until he was mysteriously injured during his last performance. Now the owner of the Burning Cove Hotel, he can't let scandal threaten his livelihood, even if it means trusting Irene, a woman who seems to have appeared in Los Angeles out of nowhere four months ago.

Amanda Quick has created an engaging book that sparkles with wit and clever plot. This books crosses genres with elements of history, romance, humor and thrillers. This novel will transport you back to the 1930s and is filled with old Hollywood glamour. Two mysteries are rolled into one in this fantastic tale with twists and turns aplenty. Quick has woven the plot skillfully and has no problem keeping track of her different storylines. Action packed from word one this novel keeps you guessing until the end. The combination of mystery, intrigue, romance and adventure makes for a compulsively engaging read. Overall a fast addictive fun mystery.

Quick characters are portrayed perfectly for the time period of 1930s Hollywood. Her characters are authentic, fresh and new with a fiery chemistry. Irene is a gutsy, smart and determined person who has learned to trust no one. Oliver is gruff, caring, plays things close to the chest and is frustrated by his injuries. Gradually their relationship catches fire and then the story really gets interesting.

Quick spins a gripping and suspenseful tale which goes romance light.

You can find this book in Rental Fiction under QUI

Kerrie Gamble