Riveting Read: the Forgetting

Riveting Read: the Forgetting

An intriguing story full of romance, adventure and suspense

Perfect for fans of James Dashner and Lois Lowry

Her current read is ‘The Forgetting’ by Sharon Cameron

This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person's memories are lost. Unless they have been written.
In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn't written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.
But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, which will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

Sharon Cameron has created a novel that blurs the lines between fantasy, dystopia and science fiction. Cameron has effectively build her world and pot which steadily builds the tension throughout the novel. Although the novel is told from Nadia’s point of view you still get a clear sense of the subplots taking place. Cameron expertly weaves the many subplots in the novel and ties them back into the main plot where everything converges at the climax. Memory and how it shapes identities and futures is at the heart of this absorbing adventure. A main theme throughout the novel is the tie between memory and morality this is especially explored during the Forgetting. The interesting concept of memory books (books containing past memories) give background information and perspectives without being boring or breaking the flow. There are no unnecessary parts to this novel as they all added bits and pieces to the plots twists along the way.

Cameron has created outstanding characters that the reader will become emotional attached to. There is strong characterisation within the novel that even the minor characters have emotional depth which adds substance to a fast paced plot. Main character Nadia is cold, calculated and doesn’t trust easily however she also has a big heart and is brave which creates a balanced character that the reader can relate to. The character you really root for throughout the novel is Grey. Grey is smart, driven and funny with just enough imperfections to make him realistic and the romance between these two characters is realistic and hard earned. All relationships are important to Cameron as she also focuses on familial relationships not just romantic. Nadia has a hard time connecting with her older sister (due to her sister’s belief that Nadia is not really her sister) but has a positive relationship with her younger sister. Different aspects of parental relationships are also explored through Nadia’s negative situation and Grey’s positive situation. Overall the characters draw you in and never let you go as you go through this rollercoaster ride with them.

Full of twists and turns with amazing characters

You can find this book in the Young Adult section under CAM

Kerrie Gamble