Waitaki District Libraries Blog

Featuring thoughts, ideas, events, book reviews and staff picks from Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Riveting Read: Spin the Dawn

    Instantly captivates and keeps you hooked

    Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh and Holly Black

    Her current read is ‘Spin the Dawn’ by Elizabeth Lim

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Misfits, mayhem, mysteries and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer (Young Adult Fiction, MEY)

  • Top Ten: Film Adaptations

    Love books but do not have the time or concentration to read them? Why not try a film adaptation? Listed below is ten fabulous adaptations from books spanning all age ranges and interests. Give one a try today!

     

    Anne with an E (TV Series)

  • What Staff are Reading

    Romance, reconnection and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Riveting Read: The Beholder

    Romance, intrigue and a quest. What more could you ask for?

    Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass and Renee Ahdieh

    Her current read is ‘The Beholder’ by Anna Bright

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Mysteries, magic, missions and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Top Ten: Witch Fiction

    From historical hysteria to supernatural sorcery this list has it all. Dive into the magical world of witches or find out about the hysteria that followed women in history and the damage an accusation could cause. Check out our list of witches in fiction today!

     

  • What Staff are Reading

    History, hoodlums and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Riveting Read: Crown of Feathers

    Simmering with suspense and twists and turns aplenty

    Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘Crown of Feathers’ by Nicki Pau Preto

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Don't Panic - book cover

    Our latest books speak of radical changes to office life and offer answers that directly address the uncertain economic evironment in the wake of the Covid-19 Pandemic:

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Victorian, voting, vegetables and more in this month's new releases! Check out what's new at the Oamaru Library today or place a reserve through our online catalogue! There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Top Ten: NZ Fiction

    The afterlife, accidents, AI and more! Show some pride for our country and check out our list of Top Ten New Zealand Fiction. New Zealand fiction encompasses New Zealand authors and fiction set in New Zealand.

     

  • What Staff are Reading

    Doctors, decoration, desolation and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Riveting Read: The Nameless Queen

    An empowering narrative chock full of suprises

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Victoria Aveyard

    Her current read is ‘The Nameless Queen’ by Rebecca McLauglin

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Animals, assassins and more! We are now open again so it's time to come on back in and check out some of our new releases this month! There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Top Ten: Social Issues

    Take a break from your usual reads and dip your toe into social issues. Check out our top ten list on social issues in fiction. Social issues include reflections on mental health, racism, body size and more.

     

  • Coming Soon: Fiction

    New titles to hit the fiction world flying including popular authors next installments. You don't want to miss out on these! Place a reserve today and be next in line when these hit our shelves

     

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: The Vanishing

    A smart and creative series opener that is sure to entertain.

    Perfect for fans of J D Robb and Nora Roberts

    Her current read is ‘The Vanishing’ by Jayne Ann Krentz

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Mothers and Motherhood

    Mother’s Day is May 10th and a day to celebrate with a good book so what is more fitting than a good novel featuring mothers & motherhood?
    If you are seeking a great story that ends on a positive note here are just a few of the many titles you might choose from:

Pages