Waitaki District Libraries Blog

Featuring thoughts, ideas, events, book reviews and staff picks from Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads February 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Te Tirito o Waitangi/Treay of Waitangi Blog

    Te Tirito o Waitangi/Treaty of Waitangi is New Zealand's founding document, and takes it's name from the place in the Bay of Islands where it was first signed on the 6th February 1840 as an agreement in both Māori and English between the British Crown and about 540 Māori rangatira (chiefs).

  • Top Ten New Releases

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Dear Reader: the comfort and joy of books by Cathy Rentzenbrink

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads January 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Riveting Reads: Cursed by Thomas Wheeler

    A horrifying yet mesmerising modern retelling of an Arthurian Legend.

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J Mass and Toni Adeyeni.

    Her current read is Cursed by Thomas Wheeler and illustrated by Frank Miller.

  • Top Ten Steampunk Fiction

    Steampunk is a retro futuristic subgenre in Science Fiction literature that incorporates technology and aesthetic design inspired by 19th-century industrial steam powered machinery.

    Check out our top ten Steampunk books that are part of our collection here at Ōamaru Library. 

     

  • Top Ten New Releases

    War, Windrunners and fugitive witches...

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Riveting Read June Boys

    A gripping young adult thriller that keeps you guessing after each chapter

    Perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Courtney Summers

    Her current read is The June Boys by Court Stevens

  • Staff Reads December 2020

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Top Ten Christmas Edition

    Cozy reads, festive foods and good-feeling christmas movies.

    Check out our list of favorite reads and dvds to get you in the spirit of Christmas!

     

    Quality Street Girls by Penny Thorpe (Large Print, THO)

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Space Battles, Secrets, Sorcery and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

    To Sleep in a Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini (Adult Fiction Rental, PAO)

  • Riveting Read: Spin the Dawn

    Instantly captivates and keeps you hooked

    Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh and Holly Black

    Her current read is ‘Spin the Dawn’ by Elizabeth Lim

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Misfits, mayhem, mysteries and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer (Young Adult Fiction, MEY)

  • Top Ten: Film Adaptations

    Love books but do not have the time or concentration to read them? Why not try a film adaptation? Listed below is ten fabulous adaptations from books spanning all age ranges and interests. Give one a try today!

     

    Anne with an E (TV Series)

  • What Staff are Reading

    Romance, reconnection and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Riveting Read: The Beholder

    Romance, intrigue and a quest. What more could you ask for?

    Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass and Renee Ahdieh

    Her current read is ‘The Beholder’ by Anna Bright

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Mysteries, magic, missions and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • What Staff are Reading

    History, hoodlums and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Top Ten: Witch Fiction

    From historical hysteria to supernatural sorcery this list has it all. Dive into the magical world of witches or find out about the hysteria that followed women in history and the damage an accusation could cause. Check out our list of witches in fiction today!

     

  • Don't Panic - book cover

    Our latest books speak of radical changes to office life and offer answers that directly address the uncertain economic evironment in the wake of the Covid-19 Pandemic:

Pages