Waitaki District Libraries Blog

Featuring thoughts, ideas, events, book reviews and staff picks from Waitaki District Libraries.

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Murder, mysteries and more! Check out what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading this month!

  • Riveting Read: Grace and Fury

    Bold, beautiful and brutal. A stunning beginning to a new series.

    Perfect for fans of Keira Cass and Victoria Aveyard

    Her current read is ‘Grace and Fury’ by Tracy Banghart

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like The Girl With the Dragon Tatto Why Not Try

    To celebrate the release of the new book in the Millennium series 'The Girl Who Lived Twice' check out our list of books like 'The Girl With the dragon Tattoo'

  • Top Ten: Duplicitous Characters

    Devious, desperate and duplicitous characters abound in this list of fiction. Check out our top ten novels containing duplicitous characters

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: City of the Lost

    Secrets, seclusion and slayings create a thriller like no other

    Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Stieg Larsson

    Her current read is ‘City of the Lost’ by Kelley Armstrong

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Mills and Boon Why Not Try

    Love books like Mills and Boon but can’t seem to find something similar? Why not try something from the list below?

  • Top Ten: Dysfunctional Families

    Check out this list on dysfunctional families in fiction that will make you glad for your family

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Before She Ignites

    An electric beginning to a new series that will have you begging for more

    Perfect for fans of Julie Kagawa and Kate Elliott

    Her current read is ‘Before She Ignites’ by Jodi Meadows

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Lee Child Why Not Try

    Can’t get enough of Lee Child? Struggling to find something similar? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Top Ten: Cookbooks

    Looking for something to warm you up this winter? Why not check out our list of cookbooks?

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Scythe

    A chilling concept that will keep you hooked from beginning to end

    Perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘Scythe’ by Neal Schusterman

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Talon Why Not Try

    Can’t get enough of Talon by Julie Kagawa? Struggling to find something similar? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Heartland Strong book cover 2019

    Heartland Strong edited by Margaret Brown, et al., Massey University Press - Business & Economics (307.141 HEA)
    A new vision for the future of New Zealand’s rural communities

  • Top Ten: New Zealand Fiction

    Show some pride for our country and check out our list of Top Ten New Zealand Fiction

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Check out what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading this month!

  • Riveting Read: An Unkindness of Magicians

    A fast paced dark tale of revenge.

    Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Trudi Canavan.

    Her current read is An Unkindness of Magicians by Kat Howard.

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like The Girl on the Train Why Not Try

    Love ‘The Girl on the Train’ but can’t seem to find a similar book? Why not try some of the books listed below?

Pages