Waitaki District Libraries Blog

Featuring thoughts, ideas, events, book reviews and staff picks from Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Riveting Read: Crown of Feathers

    Simmering with suspense and twists and turns aplenty

    Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘Crown of Feathers’ by Nicki Pau Preto

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Don't Panic - book cover

    Our latest books speak of radical changes to office life and offer answers that directly address the uncertain economic evironment in the wake of the Covid-19 Pandemic:

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Victorian, voting, vegetables and more in this month's new releases! Check out what's new at the Oamaru Library today or place a reserve through our online catalogue! There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Top Ten: NZ Fiction

    The afterlife, accidents, AI and more! Show some pride for our country and check out our list of Top Ten New Zealand Fiction. New Zealand fiction encompasses New Zealand authors and fiction set in New Zealand.

     

  • What Staff are Reading

    Doctors, decoration, desolation and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Riveting Read: The Nameless Queen

    An empowering narrative chock full of suprises

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Victoria Aveyard

    Her current read is ‘The Nameless Queen’ by Rebecca McLauglin

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Animals, assassins and more! We are now open again so it's time to come on back in and check out some of our new releases this month! There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Top Ten: Social Issues

    Take a break from your usual reads and dip your toe into social issues. Check out our top ten list on social issues in fiction. Social issues include reflections on mental health, racism, body size and more.

     

  • Coming Soon: Fiction

    New titles to hit the fiction world flying including popular authors next installments. You don't want to miss out on these! Place a reserve today and be next in line when these hit our shelves

     

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: The Vanishing

    A smart and creative series opener that is sure to entertain.

    Perfect for fans of J D Robb and Nora Roberts

    Her current read is ‘The Vanishing’ by Jayne Ann Krentz

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Mothers and Motherhood

    Mother’s Day is May 10th and a day to celebrate with a good book so what is more fitting than a good novel featuring mothers & motherhood?
    If you are seeking a great story that ends on a positive note here are just a few of the many titles you might choose from:

  • Top Ten Coming Soon

    Check out some of the books soon to be arriving at the Ōamaru Library! We've got you covered after the lock down is over.

     

  • Wartime Novels

    What’s special about wartime novels? There’s romance, adventure, mysteries, thrillers and more. The difference is the times and settings. Heroism, camaraderie, stoicism, fear and suffering are all heightened. Here’s a very mixed selection of war stories by current writers. It’s quite a feast:

  • Top Ten: Quests

    Stuck in your bubble? Why not take a literary quest? Fight with armoured bears, save a child or even the world! Check out our list of quests in fiction.

  • Uplifting Reads

    Looking for a well written book with a great storyline, recognisable characters and that essential element - uplift?
    If you enjoyed Helen Simonson’s bestseller “Major Pettigrew’s last stand” and are hungry for more authors and titles, try some of these for size:

  • What Staff are Reading

    Lock Down Edition! Check out all the wonderful things the staff at the Waitaki District Libraries are reading while in lock down.

  • Something to Look Forward To!

    Stop the Press! There will be a smorgasbord of new reading coming your way during the next few months after the library reopens and listed here are just a few “tasters” to whet your appetites -

  • Riveting Read: The Blacksmith Queen

    A funny and quirky first installment in a brand new series

    Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘The Blacksmith Queen’ by G. A. Aiken

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Top Ten New Releases

    Magic, mystery and more! Check out some of our new releases this month!

Pages