Waitaki District Libraries Blog

Featuring thoughts, ideas, events, book reviews and staff picks from Waitaki District Libraries.

  • If You Like Romance Why Not Try

    Love romance? Why not try one of these brand new books to the Oamaru Library

  • What Staff are Reading

    Societies, secrets and so much more! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Top Ten: Christmas Books

    Time to get into the Christmas spirit! Check out our new Christmas Books in the list below

  • Riveting Read: Spindle Fire

    A page turning read that will ensnare its readers

    Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh and Marissa Meyer

    Her current read is ‘Spindle Fire’ by Lexa Hillyer

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Mysteries Why Not Try

    Love mysteries? Why not try one of these brand new books to the Oamaru Library

  • Top Ten: Books About Books

    What’s better than reading? Reading a book where a book is the main plot device! Check out our Top Ten list of books about books

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Give the Dark My Love

    A dark and twisted tale of an anti-hero

    Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Cinda Williams Chima

    Her current read is ‘Give the Dark My Love’ by Beth Revis

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Outlander Why Not Try

    Do you like ‘Outlander/Cross Stitch’ but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try something from the list below?

  • Top Ten: False Identities

    Characters being in disguise or hiding their identities is particularly common in books whether for protection or duplicitous reasons. From avatars to avengers here are some of the best false identities in fiction!

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Murder, mysteries and more! Check out what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading this month!

  • Riveting Read: Grace and Fury

    Bold, beautiful and brutal. A stunning beginning to a new series.

    Perfect for fans of Keira Cass and Victoria Aveyard

    Her current read is ‘Grace and Fury’ by Tracy Banghart

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like The Girl With the Dragon Tatto Why Not Try

    To celebrate the release of the new book in the Millennium series 'The Girl Who Lived Twice' check out our list of books like 'The Girl With the dragon Tattoo'

  • Top Ten: Duplicitous Characters

    Devious, desperate and duplicitous characters abound in this list of fiction. Check out our top ten novels containing duplicitous characters

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: City of the Lost

    Secrets, seclusion and slayings create a thriller like no other

    Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Stieg Larsson

    Her current read is ‘City of the Lost’ by Kelley Armstrong

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Mills and Boon Why Not Try

    Love books like Mills and Boon but can’t seem to find something similar? Why not try something from the list below?

  • Top Ten: Dysfunctional Families

    Check out this list on dysfunctional families in fiction that will make you glad for your family

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Before She Ignites

    An electric beginning to a new series that will have you begging for more

    Perfect for fans of Julie Kagawa and Kate Elliott

    Her current read is ‘Before She Ignites’ by Jodi Meadows

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

Pages