Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Libraries and Waitaki District Archive.

  • Riveting Read: Stranger of Tempest

    Dark humour and mayhem aplenty in this first installment by Tom Lloyd

    Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Joe Abercrombie

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Waitaki District Archive 3742P: Chinese Community Float VJ Day Parade

    This weekend the wider Waitaki community has been invited to celebrate Chinese New Year in Oamaru Public Gardens with an International Food Court, Performances, Chinese games and more.

  • Top Ten: Unreliable Narrators

    From Margaret Atwood to Gillian Flynn, there are different types of unreliable narrators who make there books a compelling read. Here are a few that stood out to me

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • The Waitangi Sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi, signed between the British Crown and various Māori chiefs in 1840.

    Tomorrow, 6 February, is Waitangi Day. One of the first exhibitions I was involved with at the North Otago Museum was hosting the touring exhibition Treaty 2 U back in 2011.

  • Embroidered smoker's cap North Otago Museum 2006/06

    A selection of interesting men's headwear the collection of the North Otago Museum is currently on display at the Oamaru Opera House.

  • If You Like The Handmaid's Tale Why Not Try These

    Love ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try some of the books listed below.

  • Riveting Read: The Shadow Revolution

    An exciting introduction to a brand new steampunk/fantasy series.

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Juliet Marillier.

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Top Ten: Films Based on Fact

    Enjoy films based on fact? Why not try one of the great DVDs on this list?

    All DVDs are located by the front doors

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Every wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check out the list below to find out!

  • If You Like Outlander Why Not Try These

    Love Outlander but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try some of the books listed below.

  • Riveting Read: Fire

    An engaging and stellar fantasy with something for everyone

    Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Juliet Marillier

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘Fire’ by Kristin Cashore

  • Top Ten: Christmas Books

    Time to get into the Christmas spirit! Check out our new Christmas Books in the list below

  • What Staff are Reading

    Every wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check out the list below to find out!

  • If You Like 'Game of Thrones' Why Not Try These

    Love Game of Thrones but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try some of the books listed below.

  • 2015/330.237 Contract for the design and erection of Craig's Fountain, Oamaru Gardens

    The magnificent Craig's fountain occupies a focal point near the main entrance to the Oamaru Public Gardens. Officially opened during the Floral fete on 13 April 1914, the fountain was purchased with bequest funds of 500 pounds from the estate of prominent Oamaru timber merchant James Craig.

  • Riveting Read: Strange the Dreamer

    A sweeping tale blending together magic and emotional truth

    Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine and Victoria Aveyard

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘Strange the Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor

  • Top Ten: Displacement

    From immigration to banishment read our Top Ten Items about displacement

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Every wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check out the list below to find out!

  • Riveting Read: The Good Daughter

    A dark, gritty, gut wrenching psychological thriller with heart.

    Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Val McDermid

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘The Good Daughter’ by Karin Slaughter

Pages