Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Libraries and Waitaki District Archive.

  • Transport image

    This is the first in a series of top ten non fiction reads. All of the books listed here can be found at the Oamaru Public Library in the Transport section or in our branch libraries.

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • Riveting Read: the Forgetting

    An intriguing story full of romance, adventure and suspense

    Perfect for fans of James Dashner and Lois Lowry

    Her current read is ‘The Forgetting’ by Sharon Cameron

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Crazy Rich Asians Why Not Try These

    Can’t get enough of Crazy Rich Asians? Struggling to find something similar? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Top Ten: Fairy Tale Retellings

    Fairy tales have captured our imagination for years. Check out the list below for stunning retellings of classic fairy tales

  • What Staff are Reading

    Kerrie’s pick is ‘Friendly Fire’ by Dale Lucas (Adult Fiction Rental, DAL)

  • 10th Regiment North Otago Rifles Cap badge North Otago Museum 79/726

    The 11th of November 2018 is the centennial of the World War One Armistice. An armistice is a truce. Opposing forces might agree to an armistice while they work out peace terms. And that is what happened in World War One.

  • Riveting Read: The Cruel Prince

    A cunning fantasy that will keep readers guessing until the end

    Perfect for fans of Richelle Mead and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘The Cruel Prince’ by Holly Black

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Top Ten: Spy Novels

    Check out our list for the top ten spy novels available at our libraries!

  • Patron DVD Reviews

    Top Gear has The Sting… Oamaru Library has their own Secret DVD Reviewer, a regular customer who enjoys our wide selection of Movies, TV Series and Documentary titles.

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • If You Like Romances with a Twist Why Not Try These

    Love romances with a twist but can’t seem to find these books? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Top Ten: Boarding School Fiction

    Magic, murder, mayhem and more! Check out our top ten list detailing boarding school fiction.

  • What Staff are Reading

    Vampires, villains and more! Check out what the Oamaru Library staff are reading today

  • Riveting Read: Small Spaces

    A spine tingling psychological thriller that appeals to all ages

    Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Karin Slaughter

    Her current read is ‘Small Spaces’ by Sarah Epstein

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Suffrage 125 logo

    This year Aotearoa New Zealand is celebrating 125 years since women successfully fought to be allowed to vote in parliamentary elections. There are lots of good online resources connected with this anniversary.

  • If You Like Dan Brown Why Not Try These

    Love Dan Brown but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try some of the books listed below

  • North Otago Museum textile store

    In the past Museums often collected indiscriminately, becoming a bit like community attics. This applies right from major international museums to small regional museums such as the North Otago Museum and Archive.

  • Riveting Read: The Immortals

    A fun and thrilling mix of modern day and Greek mythology

    Perfect for fans of Juliet Marillier and Dan Brown

    Her current read is ‘The Immortals’ by Jordanna Max Brodsky

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Top Ten: Medieval Fiction

    Warriors and quests aplenty! Check out our list of must read medieval fiction!

Pages