Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Libraries and Waitaki District Archive.

  • Top Ten: Celebrity Books

    Check out this list of books detailing the lives of our favourite celebrities or written by them.

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • Peace Day Dress, Collection of North Otago Museum 83/248

    As we commemorate Anzac Day 2019 I am reflecting on North Otago a century ago. By 1919 the war was finally over.

  • Riveting Read: Skyward

    A rollercoaster ride of emotions that will keep you turning the pages
    Perfect for fans of Orson Scott Card and Amie Kaufman

    Her current read is ‘Skyward’ by Brandon Sanderson

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Percy Jackson Why Not Try..

    Love Percy Jackson but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try some of the books listed below.

  • Top Ten: Musicals

    Check out this list of Musicals available at the Oamaru Library

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • Riveting Read: Scarlet Widow

    A superb piece of historical horror than will keep you guessing until the end

    Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Dean Koontz

    Her current read is ‘Scarlet Widow’ by Graham Masterton

  • If You Like The Hunger Games Why Not Try

    Do you like ‘The Hunger Games’ but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try something from the list below

  • Image – Gina Buckley (photographer) and Rebecca Anderson (Gallery and Museum Technician) photographing Museum objects. February 2019

    In 2019 we will be launching our Collections Online. This will ultimately mean that our community (local and global) will be able to search our collections and view information and images of the collection online.

  • Forrester Gallery Exterior wall with scaffold

    Dooleys Masonry team are currently on site at the Forrester Gallery carrying out repairs to the stonework.
    The Forrester Gallery will be reopening soon.

  • Characters With Mental Health Issues

    Check out our list of books who do mental illness/health right! Explore these books that touch on mental health realistically and compassionately.

  • Man's hand holding a fishing rod

    This is the second in a series of top ten non fiction reads. All of the books listed here can be found at the Oamaru Public Library in the Hobbies & Leisure section or in our branch libraries.

  • Forrester Gallery opening soon

    We have exciting news. A refurbished and upgraded Forrester Gallery will be reopening early 2020.
    For more information and updates visit our Facebook page and What’s on pages on our website at www.culturewaitaki.org.nz

  • What Staff are Reading

    New Year, new books! Check out what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Library of Fates

    A romantic coming of age tale steeped in Indian folklore

    Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Renee Ahdieh

    Her current read is ‘Library of Fates’ by Aditi Khorana

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Mokihi display at the North Otago Museum in 2011

    6 February, Waitangi Day. The current exhibition upgrade project at the North Otago Museum is an opportunity for our museum to confirm its commitment to honouring the Treaty of Waitangi. So what does this mean? What will it look like for visitors?

  • Tin Toy Pig, North Otago Museum 88/496

    This year, 2019, the Chinese New Year is on Tuesday, February 5. The date shifts each year because it depends on the lunar calendar. 2019 is the year of the pig. The pig is last animal in the cycle of 12. Next year, 2020, will be the year of the rat.

  • If You Like Throne of Glass Why Not Try These

    Can’t get enough of Throne of Glass? Struggling to find something similar? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Top Ten: Multiple Narrator Fiction

    Check out our list of novels with multiple narrators!

Pages