Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, Waitaki Museum and Archive, Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads February 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Te Tirito o Waitangi/Treay of Waitangi Blog

    Te Tirito o Waitangi/Treaty of Waitangi is New Zealand's founding document, and takes it's name from the place in the Bay of Islands where it was first signed on the 6th February 1840 as an agreement in both Māori and English between the British Crown and about 540 Māori rangatira (chiefs).

  • Top Ten New Releases

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Dear Reader: the comfort and joy of books by Cathy Rentzenbrink

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads January 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Riveting Reads: Cursed by Thomas Wheeler

    A horrifying yet mesmerising modern retelling of an Arthurian Legend.

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J Mass and Toni Adeyeni.

    Her current read is Cursed by Thomas Wheeler and illustrated by Frank Miller.

  • Top Ten Steampunk Fiction

    Steampunk is a retro futuristic subgenre in Science Fiction literature that incorporates technology and aesthetic design inspired by 19th-century industrial steam powered machinery.

    Check out our top ten Steampunk books that are part of our collection here at Ōamaru Library. 

     

  • Top Ten New Releases

    War, Windrunners and fugitive witches...

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • detail of museum exhibition

    The front of the Waitaki Museum & Archive is now open again. After having this space closed for refurbishment it is a joy to be welcoming visitors back to the museum.

  • Riveting Read June Boys

    A gripping young adult thriller that keeps you guessing after each chapter

    Perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Courtney Summers

    Her current read is The June Boys by Court Stevens

  • Staff Reads December 2020

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Top Ten Christmas Edition

    Cozy reads, festive foods and good-feeling christmas movies.

    Check out our list of favorite reads and dvds to get you in the spirit of Christmas!

     

    Quality Street Girls by Penny Thorpe (Large Print, THO)

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Space Battles, Secrets, Sorcery and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

    To Sleep in a Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini (Adult Fiction Rental, PAO)

  • Image: Anna McIntosh 1993

    Anna McIntosh’s name and face have popped up several times while I have been looking through historical Burns Memorial Art exhibition records, so I thought I would get her in to talk to about her involvement with the exhibition.

  • Image: Anna Wild

    Anna Wild was the exhibitions curator at the Forrester Gallery from 2004- 2007.

    Her colleagues at the gallery were Warwick Smith, Director, Rob Douglas and John Mitchell

    We asked her a few questions about her memories of the Burns Memorial Art Exhibition.

  • Children's Art Show catalogue cover, 1963

    George Burns whom the Burns Memorial Art Exhibition is named after was previously involved with another exhibition called the Children’s Art Show in the 1960s. It toured around the South Island and was sponsored by the Christchurch Star where George Burns was editor.

  • Warwick Smith and Rob Douglas 2006

    My involvement with Oamaru school art exhibitions predates Burns’ Memorial.  As a pupil at Waitaki Boys in the early sixties my art teacher, the late Colin Wheeler, encouraged me over several years to submit a number of paintings to the Christchurch Star Sun South Island Secondary Schools' Art Ex

  • Louise Rayner and Jane Edwards

    As I opened the gallery this morning, I was met by a woman waiting to meet her friend. I was to find out soon she was Louise Rayner from Waimate and her friend was Jane Edwards from Dunedin.

  • Riveting Read: Spin the Dawn

    Instantly captivates and keeps you hooked

    Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh and Holly Black

    Her current read is ‘Spin the Dawn’ by Elizabeth Lim

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Misfits, mayhem, mysteries and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer (Young Adult Fiction, MEY)

  • Top Ten: Film Adaptations

    Love books but do not have the time or concentration to read them? Why not try a film adaptation? Listed below is ten fabulous adaptations from books spanning all age ranges and interests. Give one a try today!

     

    Anne with an E (TV Series)

Pages