Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Libraries and Waitaki District Archive.

  • Forrester Gallery closed until further notice

    The Forrester Gallery will continue to be closed until further notice. We will update you soon.

  • What Staff are Reading

    New Year, new books! Check out what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Library of Fates

    A romantic coming of age tale steeped in Indian folklore

    Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Renee Ahdieh

    Her current read is ‘Library of Fates’ by Aditi Khorana

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Timothy Te Maiharoa with mokihi, 1990. Waitaki District Archive 3749P

    6 February, Waitangi Day. The current exhibition upgrade project at the North Otago Museum is an opportunity for our museum to confirm its commitment to honouring the Treaty of Waitangi. So what does this mean? What will it look like for visitors?

  • Tin Toy Pig, North Otago Museum 88/496

    This year, 2019, the Chinese New Year is on Tuesday, February 5. The date shifts each year because it depends on the lunar calendar. 2019 is the year of the pig. The pig is last animal in the cycle of 12. Next year, 2020, will be the year of the rat.

  • If You Like Throne of Glass Why Not Try These

    Can’t get enough of Throne of Glass? Struggling to find something similar? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Top Ten: Multiple Narrator Fiction

    Check out our list of novels with multiple narrators!

  • Transport image

    This is the first in a series of top ten non fiction reads. All of the books listed here can be found at the Oamaru Public Library in the Transport section or in our branch libraries.

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • Riveting Read: the Forgetting

    An intriguing story full of romance, adventure and suspense

    Perfect for fans of James Dashner and Lois Lowry

    Her current read is ‘The Forgetting’ by Sharon Cameron

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • If You Like Crazy Rich Asians Why Not Try These

    Can’t get enough of Crazy Rich Asians? Struggling to find something similar? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Top Ten: Fairy Tale Retellings

    Fairy tales have captured our imagination for years. Check out the list below for stunning retellings of classic fairy tales

  • What Staff are Reading

    Kerrie’s pick is ‘Friendly Fire’ by Dale Lucas (Adult Fiction Rental, DAL)

  • 10th Regiment North Otago Rifles Cap badge North Otago Museum 79/726

    The 11th of November 2018 is the centennial of the World War One Armistice. An armistice is a truce. Opposing forces might agree to an armistice while they work out peace terms. And that is what happened in World War One.

  • Riveting Read: The Cruel Prince

    A cunning fantasy that will keep readers guessing until the end

    Perfect for fans of Richelle Mead and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘The Cruel Prince’ by Holly Black

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Top Ten: Spy Novels

    Check out our list for the top ten spy novels available at our libraries!

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Read the list below to find out!

  • Patron DVD Reviews

    Top Gear has The Sting… Oamaru Library has their own Secret DVD Reviewer, a regular customer who enjoys our wide selection of Movies, TV Series and Documentary titles.

  • If You Like Romances with a Twist Why Not Try These

    Love romances with a twist but can’t seem to find these books? Why not try some of the books listed below?

  • Riveting Read: Small Spaces

    A spine tingling psychological thriller that appeals to all ages

    Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Karin Slaughter

    Her current read is ‘Small Spaces’ by Sarah Epstein

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

Pages