Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, Waitaki Museum and Archive, Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Top Ten Holmesian Pastiche

    Sherlock Holmes has long been a popular character for pastiche - Holmes-inspired work by authors and creators other than Arthur Conan Doyle.

  • Top Ten New Releases April 2021

     

    Check out what's new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non-fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Wings of Fury by Emily King
    (Adult Fiction Rental, KIN)

  • Riveting Read And I Darken by Kiersten White

    A vicious narrative that hooks you in from the first page.

    Perfect for fans of Laura Sebastian and George R. R. Martin.

    Her current read is 'And I Darken' by Kiersten White.

    This instalment of Riveting Reads comes to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Linda Robertson.

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads March 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Top Ten Thrillers

    Murder, mystery and mayhem. Thrillers are always a go-to genre for those who enjoy plot twists and all-nighters. Our fiction shelves are full of gripping page-turners, here at Ōamaru Library, and we have put together a Top Ten list of new thrilling favorites for you to enjoy.

     

  • Top Ten New Releases March 2021

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non-fiction, children and young adults!

     

    The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles
    (Adult Fiction Rental, CHA)

  • Riveting Read Clique Bait

    Gossip Girl served with a side of revenge

    Perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Sara Shepard

    Her current read is Clique Bait by Ann Valett

    This instalment of Riveting Reads comes to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Linda Robertson.

     

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads February 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Te Tirito o Waitangi/Treay of Waitangi Blog

    Te Tirito o Waitangi/Treaty of Waitangi is New Zealand's founding document, and takes it's name from the place in the Bay of Islands where it was first signed on the 6th February 1840 as an agreement in both Māori and English between the British Crown and about 540 Māori rangatira (chiefs).

  • Top Ten New Releases

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Dear Reader: the comfort and joy of books by Cathy Rentzenbrink

  • Oamaru Library Staff Reads January 2021

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Riveting Reads: Cursed by Thomas Wheeler

    A horrifying yet mesmerising modern retelling of an Arthurian Legend.

    Perfect for fans of Sarah J Mass and Toni Adeyeni.

    Her current read is Cursed by Thomas Wheeler and illustrated by Frank Miller.

  • Top Ten Steampunk Fiction

    Steampunk is a retro futuristic subgenre in Science Fiction literature that incorporates technology and aesthetic design inspired by 19th-century industrial steam powered machinery.

    Check out our top ten Steampunk books that are part of our collection here at Ōamaru Library. 

     

  • Top Ten New Releases

    War, Windrunners and fugitive witches...

    Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • detail of museum exhibition

    The front of the Waitaki Museum & Archive is now open again. After having this space closed for refurbishment it is a joy to be welcoming visitors back to the museum.

  • Riveting Read June Boys

    A gripping young adult thriller that keeps you guessing after each chapter

    Perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Courtney Summers

    Her current read is The June Boys by Court Stevens

  • Staff Reads December 2020

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Ōamaru Library are reading? Well here's your chance!

    Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading and their reviews for this month.

     

  • Top Ten Christmas Edition

    Cozy reads, festive foods and good-feeling christmas movies.

    Check out our list of favorite reads and dvds to get you in the spirit of Christmas!

     

    Quality Street Girls by Penny Thorpe (Large Print, THO)

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Space Battles, Secrets, Sorcery and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

    To Sleep in a Sea of Stars by Christopher Paolini (Adult Fiction Rental, PAO)

  • Image: Anna Wild

    Anna Wild was the exhibitions curator at the Forrester Gallery from 2004- 2007.

    Her colleagues at the gallery were Warwick Smith, Director, Rob Douglas and John Mitchell

    We asked her a few questions about her memories of the Burns Memorial Art Exhibition.

Pages