Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Libraries and Waitaki District Archive.

  • Top Ten: Christmas Books

    Time to get into the Christmas spirit! Check out our new Christmas Books in the list below

  • What Staff are Reading

    Every wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check out the list below to find out!

  • If You Like 'Game of Thrones' Why Not Try These

    Love Game of Thrones but can’t seem to find anything similar? Why not try some of the books listed below.

  • Riveting Read: Strange the Dreamer

    A sweeping tale blending together magic and emotional truth

    Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine and Victoria Aveyard

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘Strange the Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor

  • 2015/330.237 Contract for the design and erection of Craig's Fountain, Oamaru Gardens

    The magnificent Craig's fountain occupies a focal point near the main entrance to the Oamaru Public Gardens. Officially opened during the Floral fete on 13 April 1914, the fountain was purchased with bequest funds of 500 pounds from the estate of prominent Oamaru timber merchant James Craig.

  • Top Ten: Displacement

    From immigration to banishment read our Top Ten Items about displacement

  • What Staff Are Reading

    Every wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check out the list below to find out!

  • Riveting Read: The Good Daughter

    A dark, gritty, gut wrenching psychological thriller with heart.

    Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Val McDermid

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘The Good Daughter’ by Karin Slaughter

  • Top Ten: Halloween Books

    Prepare to be scared! Halloween is just around the corner so here’s our Top Ten picks to get you in the spirit.

  • Private Rosewell. J. Watson

    Today, October 12 2017, is the centennial commemoration of the Battle of Passchendaele. Records indicate that 843 New Zealand soldiers died that day in 1917, including at least 7 North Otago servicemen.

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check the list below to find out!

  • Detail of ostrich feather and mother of pearl fan. North Otago Museum 79.924

    A selection of beautiful fans from the collection of the North Otago Museum are currently on display at the Oamaru Opera House.

  • Riveting Read: An Ember in the Ashes

    A dark and beautiful fantasy book you won’t forget!

    Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth and Suzanne Collins

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘An Ember in the Ashes’ by Sabaa Tahir

  • Top Ten: Books Based on Fairy Tales

    If you love fairy tales give these modern retellings a try!

  • Moa sculpture in the wonderlab 2017

    The staff at North Otago Museum and the Forrester Gallery have been working on the local moa story recently. Moa are fascinating and we have two upcoming opportunities for you to learn more.

  • What Staff are Reading?

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library are reading? Check the list below to find out!

  • Trial of Wolseley's Shearing Machine at Robert Campbell's, Otekaieke. 1887. Waitaki District Archive 3307P

    Behind the scenes at the museum I am still working on researching our collections. This work supports the Cultural Facility Development Project. I am continuing work on the museum’s collection of agricultural equipment at the moment.

  • Riveting Read: The Wishing Spell

    This installment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

    Her current read is ‘The Wishing Spell’ by Chris Colfer

  • Top Ten: Thrillers

    Thrillers are characterized and defined by the moods they elicit, giving viewers heightened feelings of suspense, excitement, surprise, anticipation and anxiety. I have chosen books that elicit this response.

  • North Otago Museum 79.685 pair of shoes

    A selection of fantastic shoes from the collection of the North Otago Museum is currently on display at the Oamaru Opera House.

Pages