Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, Waitaki Museum and Archive, Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Image: Anna McIntosh 1993

    Anna McIntosh’s name and face have popped up several times while I have been looking through historical Burns Memorial Art exhibition records, so I thought I would get her in to talk to about her involvement with the exhibition.

  • Image: Anna Wild

    Anna Wild was the exhibitions curator at the Forrester Gallery from 2004- 2007.

    Her colleagues at the gallery were Warwick Smith, Director, Rob Douglas and John Mitchell

    We asked her a few questions about her memories of the Burns Memorial Art Exhibition.

  • Children's Art Show catalogue cover, 1963

    George Burns whom the Burns Memorial Art Exhibition is named after was previously involved with another exhibition called the Children’s Art Show in the 1960s. It toured around the South Island and was sponsored by the Christchurch Star where George Burns was editor.

  • Warwick Smith and Rob Douglas 2006

    My involvement with Oamaru school art exhibitions predates Burns’ Memorial.  As a pupil at Waitaki Boys in the early sixties my art teacher, the late Colin Wheeler, encouraged me over several years to submit a number of paintings to the Christchurch Star Sun South Island Secondary Schools' Art Ex

  • Louise Rayner and Jane Edwards

    As I opened the gallery this morning, I was met by a woman waiting to meet her friend. I was to find out soon she was Louise Rayner from Waimate and her friend was Jane Edwards from Dunedin.

  • Riveting Read: Spin the Dawn

    Instantly captivates and keeps you hooked

    Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh and Holly Black

    Her current read is ‘Spin the Dawn’ by Elizabeth Lim

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Misfits, mayhem, mysteries and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

    Midnight Sun by Stephanie Meyer (Young Adult Fiction, MEY)

  • Top Ten: Film Adaptations

    Love books but do not have the time or concentration to read them? Why not try a film adaptation? Listed below is ten fabulous adaptations from books spanning all age ranges and interests. Give one a try today!

     

    Anne with an E (TV Series)

  • What Staff are Reading

    Romance, reconnection and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Germinated, 2020, Yvonne Gillespie

    I am a local Ōamaru artist. I moved here from Wellington and love the Otago region. I have a small space in my house where I am very happy painting. My work could be described as an assemblage of images (at first glance, seemingly unrelated) forming an harmonious whole. People see it as surreal.

  • Riveting Read: The Beholder

    Romance, intrigue and a quest. What more could you ask for?

    Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass and Renee Ahdieh

    Her current read is ‘The Beholder’ by Anna Bright

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Mysteries, magic, missions and more! Check out what is new to the Ōamaru Library this month. There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Apothecary jar, WMA 78_1892

    Work is underway at Waitaki Museum on refitting the permanent exhibition area. The Museum has over 30,000 items in its care. Each item has its own story.

  • What Staff are Reading

    History, hoodlums and more! Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month.

     

  • Top Ten: Witch Fiction

    From historical hysteria to supernatural sorcery this list has it all. Dive into the magical world of witches or find out about the hysteria that followed women in history and the damage an accusation could cause. Check out our list of witches in fiction today!

     

  • Don't Panic - book cover

    Our latest books speak of radical changes to office life and offer answers that directly address the uncertain economic evironment in the wake of the Covid-19 Pandemic:

  • Riveting Read: Crown of Feathers

    Simmering with suspense and twists and turns aplenty

    Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘Crown of Feathers’ by Nicki Pau Preto

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble

  • Padlock and key from the Oamaru Gaol, WMA 79/313

    Work is underway at Waitaki Museum on refitting the permanent exhibition area. The Museum has over 30,000 items in its care. Each item has its own story.

  • Top Ten: New Releases

    Victorian, voting, vegetables and more in this month's new releases! Check out what's new at the Oamaru Library today or place a reserve through our online catalogue! There is something for everyone, DVD's, fiction, non fiction, children and young adults!

     

  • Top Ten: NZ Fiction

    The afterlife, accidents, AI and more! Show some pride for our country and check out our list of Top Ten New Zealand Fiction. New Zealand fiction encompasses New Zealand authors and fiction set in New Zealand.

     

Pages